QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK

Report to the Academic Senate

September 26, 2018

From: Dr. Helmut Loeffler, Chairperson of the Committee on Committees

To: Dr. Jeanette Urciuoli, Secretary of the Academic Senate Steering Committee

Monthly Report of the Committee on Committees for September 2018

I. New Academic Senate Committee Members

Whenever vacancies on committees become available, the members of the Committee on Committees (CoC) vote via e-mail to appoint new members. Here are the changes that the CoC were made aware of, voted on, and approved.

A. Committee on Publications

To fill a vacancy left by the resignation of Dr. Frank Jacob (History), the CoC named Aviva Geismar (HPED) to this committee. Her term ends in 2020.

B. Committee on e-Learning

To fill a vacancy left by the resignation of Prof. Eileen White (Speech Communication Theatre Arts), the CoC named Carlene Byfield (Nursing) to this committee. The term ends in 2019.

C. Committee on Food Insecurity

To fill a vacancy left by the resignation of Nataliya Khomyak (Math), the CoC named Gail Lewis (Speech Communication Theatre Arts) to this committee. The term ends in 2019.

D. Committee on Admissions

To fill a vacancy left by the resignation of Virginia Masterson (Business), the CoC named Dr. Aliza Atik (English) to this committee. The term ends in 2021.

E. Committee on Cultural and Archival Resources

To fill a vacancy left by the resignation of Dr. Joshua Hall (Social Sciences), the CoC named Dr. Adam Luedtke (Social Sciences) to this committee. The term ends in 2021.

To fill a vacancy left by the resignation of Dr. Leslie Francis (Business), the CoC named Dr. Sarbani Ghoshal (Biological Sciences and Geology) to this committee. The term ends in 2019.

F. Committee on Assessment

To fill a vacancy left by the resignation of Dr. Andrea Salis (HPED), the CoC named Manuel Martinez (English) to this committee. The term ends in 2019.

G. Committee on Bylaws

To fill a vacancy left by the resignation of Dr. Susan Jacobowitz (English), the CoC named Dr. William Ryan (English) to this committee. The term ends in 2019.

II. New Academic Senate Member

The CoC conducted the election at the meeting of the Academic Senate on September 25 of faculty at large replacement of Andrea Salis' senate seat. Pete Mauro was elected and will serve through April 2019.

III. 2018-2019 Planning for the Election of Members-At-Large and Nominating Petitions for Committee Service

The Chair of the CoC had meetings with Jeffrey Schwartz, the Senate Technology Officer and Dr. Joel Kuscai, chair of the Steering Committee, to discuss and plan proceedings.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Helmut Loeffler

Chairperson, Committee on Committee